Ilmar Lehtpere

Ilmar Lehtpere had a bilingual upbringing in Estonian and English. He is Kristiina Ehin’s English language translator. The Drums of Silence (Oleander Press, 2007), a volume of her selected poems in his translation, was awarded the Poetry Society Corneliu M. Popescu Prize for European Poetry in Translation, and her The Scent of Your Shadow (Arc, 2010) was named Poetry Book Society Recommended Translation. His other translations of Kristiina Ehin’s work are The Final Going of Snow (Modern Poetry in Translation, 2011),Põletades pimedust – Burning the Darkness – An Dorchadas á Dhó (trilingual Estonian-English-Irish selected poems, Coiscéim, 2009), A Priceless Nest, (short stories, Oleander Press, 2009), Päevaseiskaja – South-Estonian Fairy Tales  (Huma, 2009) and Noorkuuhommik – New Moon Morning  (selected poems, 2007).  Ehin’s1001 Winters was published by Bitter Oleander Press in 2013

Lehtpere own poetry has appeared in Estonian and Irish literary magazines. Wandering Towards Dawn (Lapwing, 2011), is a volume of his and Sadie Murphy’s poetry.  They live in Birmingham, England.

Soja Laul: The Estonian Song of War (2005), 8 1/2″ x 5 1/2″ classical epic poem of Estonia in three booklets. $20.00